Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Post your product review or ask questions on products

walkerhunter01
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: North Carolina

Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby walkerhunter01 » Wed Sep 29, 2010 6:34 pm

Has anyone tried to update their DC 20,30 or 40 with the new 3.50 software using Web Updater? I updated my two DC 30's last night and experienced some issues trying to get the Astro to communicate with the collars after it was finished. I was wondering if anyone else experienced these issues?
User avatar
fredrikl
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Sep 02, 2010 9:32 am
Location: Sweden
Facebook ID: 664773130
Location: Sweden, 65°N

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby fredrikl » Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:22 am

Hi,

I just did the same thing on a dc30 collar and experienced some problems with the communication between the handheld and the collar after that.
When I went thru the process of changing communication settings it started to work correctly again.

for what it's worth
/Fredrik
BEvans
Posts: 9
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:19 pm
Location: Utah

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby BEvans » Thu Sep 30, 2010 8:45 pm

Yea I did the same thing. I now have one collar that i cant get to communicate and my buddy has four. I called Garmin they said to unlug the battery and let set 20 min. Did that with no luck. Let us know if you figure something out my buddies collars are off warranty and they said it would be $83 dollars a collar. A little expensive for something going wrong with their software update!?
User avatar
slowandeasy
Babble Mouth
Babble Mouth
Posts: 1040
Joined: Sat Jan 02, 2010 7:09 pm
Location: AZ.

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby slowandeasy » Thu Sep 30, 2010 9:49 pm

boy the beep beep's just keep looking sweeter and sweeter. have had them for 30 years never lost a dog, and if i had that much trouble with them would have took a hammer to them. :lol:
Cry to the heavens and let slip the dogs of war. For they must feed on the bones of tyranny. In order for men to have freedom and liberty
User avatar
sheimer
Open Mouth
Open Mouth
Posts: 674
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2009 1:55 am
Location: Montana
Location: Southcentral Montana

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby sheimer » Thu Sep 30, 2010 10:59 pm

Funny that you braught this up.....

I had a DC20 that was stuck on one location. I updated it to the 3.50 update and now it won't communicate with my handheld and keeps shutting off. I just thought that the collar finally gave up the goat. It may have been the upgrade or should I say downgrade :wink:

Scott
Steve White
Open Mouth
Open Mouth
Posts: 511
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 1:59 am
Location: wi
Location: St Germain,WI
Contact:

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby Steve White » Fri Oct 01, 2010 2:24 pm

I have done the update without any problems. Still you could have problems like with any other software upgrade. Somewhere in the process the data could have been corupted. Here are some things to try to work it out.

First verify the software version. From the dog info page. Hit enter then identify dog unit. It will tell you the version at that point. If that is correct.

With the collar on and aquired. Lights are blinking 2 or 3 times. Delete the collar from your system. Then add it back in using the auto feature. Make sure the unit also has a GPS lock. Once this happens if you have a good gps signal you will now see 3 flashes instead of 2.

Now if this does not work. Try the update again. Then follow above steps. You should also make sure the 220 is updated as well.

You can also reset the collar by disconnecting the battery. Just in case there is other corupt data causing the problem. A master reset of the 220 may also help.

Now if all this fails, and you have done it. Then call Garmin for replacement. There is a bigger issue. If you have not followed these steps Garmin will want you to do so before issuing an RMA.
Steve White
White's Woods & Waters
http://www.whiteswoodsandwaters.com
steve@whiteswoodsandwaters.com
715-892-0032
walkerhunter01
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby walkerhunter01 » Fri Oct 01, 2010 3:12 pm

I deleted the two collars from the Astro unit and added the collars back. Now everything seems to be working fine. Has anyone had a chance to use this new triple blink feature in the woods to see if it helps anything?
Steve White
Open Mouth
Open Mouth
Posts: 511
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 1:59 am
Location: wi
Location: St Germain,WI
Contact:

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby Steve White » Fri Oct 01, 2010 6:36 pm

The triple blink simply shows a high quality gps signal. The update is suppose to improve GPS performance.

I have not tested it while hunting, but did just do a test on a collar with the update. I should have put another collar without it out as well though. I had the collar sittng on a table under my patio roof. Which is 3/4 sheeting and shingles. That is under a heavy canopy of pine, and mixed hardwoods. Some of the leaves are down, but not all. My canopy here is dense enough to not be able to use a dish. Anyhue. I was able to track the collar 1.1 miles away with the standard rubber ducky in the cradle mount on the windshield of the truck. Weather conditions of heavy clouds with rain at the time of tracking. SOO, I would say it works just fine!
Steve White
White's Woods & Waters
http://www.whiteswoodsandwaters.com
steve@whiteswoodsandwaters.com
715-892-0032
User avatar
tman308
Open Mouth
Open Mouth
Posts: 556
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: Utah/Arizona Border

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby tman308 » Sat Oct 02, 2010 11:35 am

Another thing you want to make sure you do is update your Astro. If you have never updated it then that can cause comm problems.
Tman308

Hunt Hard, Hunt Smart, Have Fun, and take your kids with you!
desertdog
Tight Mouth
Tight Mouth
Posts: 137
Joined: Sat Sep 04, 2010 3:13 pm
Location: Southwest N.M.
Facebook ID: 100000622930931

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby desertdog » Sat Oct 02, 2010 10:24 pm

I haven't had any problems with mine, so, I'm not going to change a thing..
Bearhunter
Bawl Mouth
Bawl Mouth
Posts: 235
Joined: Mon Jun 25, 2007 2:55 pm
Facebook ID: 0
Location: WV
Contact:

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby Bearhunter » Sun Oct 03, 2010 8:58 am

hunted with a buddy last who HAS'NT updated(did mine yesterday am)Dogs were together all nite At times I would loose his collar for a few seconds to a min NEVER lost mine once
Sam Snyder
User avatar
bluetickstyle
Posts: 19
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 12:01 am
Location: Tennessee

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby bluetickstyle » Mon Oct 04, 2010 12:16 am

I tried to update one of my DC-30's and now it will not pair with the system at all. When you turn the collar on both lights stay red continuously, don't flash or anything. I tried the hard reset (unplugged the battery for 2-3hrs) still no luck. Guess it's time to send it in.........
I thought there was only one color for a good hound BLUE!!!
Steve White
Open Mouth
Open Mouth
Posts: 511
Joined: Sat Sep 15, 2007 1:59 am
Location: wi
Location: St Germain,WI
Contact:

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby Steve White » Mon Oct 04, 2010 9:04 am

Bluetick, you need to try to do it again. It sounds like the data may have been corupted during the transfer.
Steve White
White's Woods & Waters
http://www.whiteswoodsandwaters.com
steve@whiteswoodsandwaters.com
715-892-0032
macedonia mule man
Bawl Mouth
Bawl Mouth
Posts: 361
Joined: Fri Jul 17, 2009 8:15 pm
Location: louisiana

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby macedonia mule man » Mon Oct 04, 2010 10:10 am

is it possible to be on a hunt ,viewing the map page and link it to your laptop and watch it on your laptop screen and copy the hunt afterward?
walkerhunter01
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Sep 29, 2010 5:39 pm
Location: North Carolina

Re: Garmin DC20,30,40 3.50 Software Update

Postby walkerhunter01 » Mon Oct 04, 2010 3:20 pm

Finally got a chance to use the update this weekend in the woods. Seemed to work just fine.

Question for Steve...you said you got 1.1 miles with your rubber ducky antenna...is that a stock Garmin antenna? and if it is, was it pretty flat where you tested it? because I have never seen that kinda range on mine with the small stock antenna. I am starting to wonder if there maybe something wrong with mine. Thanks.

Return to “Equipment and Product Review”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests