Talk about Cougar Hunting with Dogs
rosin
Tight Mouth
Tight Mouth
Facebook ID: 0

training

Postby rosin » Sun Aug 05, 2007 3:50 am

what age should one start pups to tree mountain lion
what are some training technecs people use ?
i am just getting into hunting lions in alberta and looking for any helpfull hints or tips people could give me
thanx
Mike Leonard
Babble Mouth
Babble Mouth

Postby Mike Leonard » Sun Aug 05, 2007 9:20 pm

There could be a book written on this with lots of great advice from many. Here's what I would do if I was you. I would get ahold of the most knowledable hound and cat man in your area and get some advice from him. start you pups playing what we call puppy games as soon as they show intrest. Drags, hide and seek, and later introduce them to live trapped game animals . But seek that hunter out you will save yourself a lot of headaches and a lot of money in the long run. Also do archives searches on training thru this forum. You can find a wealth of information stored right before your very finger tips if you spend the time. Working with lion hounds is a time consuming some time frustrating sport. If you can call it sport. For most of us that have been at it a long time it is neither a sport or a hobby it is a passion and a way of life.

Good luck, you are hanging around with the right crowd here on the Big Game Houndsmen Forum.
MIKE LEONARD
Somewhere out there.............
treeing walkers
Bawl Mouth
Bawl Mouth

Postby treeing walkers » Sun Aug 05, 2007 10:01 pm