From the UK

Tell us a little about you and your hounds.
Vet Jon
Facebook ID: 0

From the UK

Postby Vet Jon » Mon Oct 24, 2016 7:34 pm

Hello,

I'm Jon from England. On here to learn about your hounds and what you do, along with an obsession with your lions.
I've 25 years experience working with dogs, and I've been a veterinary surgeon for 16 years, so any advice I can give on any medical or surgical issues - I'd be pleased to help, and interested in the differences to home.

Best wishes,

Jon
BAR BAR 2
Bawl Mouth
Bawl Mouth

Re: From the UK

Postby BAR BAR 2 » Mon Oct 24, 2016 10:24 pm

Hi, Jon, and welcome to the board. I would be interested in hearing about how people hunt with hounds over there. Are there still a few who pursue fox?

Tex
=2
Vet Jon

Postby Vet Jon » Tue Oct 25, 2016 6:08 am

Hi Tex,
Hunting with hounds has been illegal in the UK since 2004. The tradition is kept alive with drag hunting where packs of foxhounds follow artificial trails laid by man.
There has been talk about repeal of the laws but there is a lot of opposition. There has been many allegations of illegal hunting though.
Mike Leonard
Babble Mouth
Babble Mouth

Postby Mike Leonard » Tue Oct 25, 2016 1:57 pm

Vet Jon,

Glad to have you on the forum. Some years back I was contacted by a researcher and a reporter for BBC. They had drummed up some funds to try to investigate numerous sighting of black panther type cats in the UK. They sent me a number of photos as well as testimonials from people who claimed to have seen and photographed these cats in the British countryside.