Shy dog

Tell us a little about you and your hounds.
High hounda
Facebook ID: 0

Shy dog

Postby High hounda » Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:21 am

HELLO ALL
I am working with two female clover breed walker hounds with good pedigrees and ran into a problem. One of the hounds is outgoing easy to train willing to learn and listens very well. But the other Hound is very shy and does not want to listen. Both of the hounds are about four months old and I have had them for about 2 months. I have read Walk with Wick volume 1 and know what John feels about shy hounds. I am new to the sport and this is my first set of hounds I am raising for big game Bobcat and Mountain Lion hunting. So I guess my question is is 4 months too early to give up on a shy Hound or should I give her more time. Any help on this subject would be great. Thank you
pegleg
Babble Mouth
Babble Mouth

Re: Shy dog

Postby pegleg » Thu Mar 16, 2017 6:23 am

Shyness as John seemed to evaluate it is rare in well raised pups. Its what I term coyote acting.if that's the case it's a choice you have to make whether to accept it as it is or not. Now being new and evaluating the pup from that perspective I would recommend giving her more handling and time all dogs go through a awkward stage. . but if you want sound advice you will have to be more detailed in how you raise and handle the dog and how she's acting and responding in specific instances. Also questioning the breeder or others that own closely related hounds is most likely to be more accurate then we can be on diagnosing the true issue or extent of shyness.
High hounda

Postby High hounda » Thu Mar 16, 2017 10:36 am