Has it always been this hard?

Tell us a little about you and your hounds.
bear-chic
Facebook ID: 0

Has it always been this hard?

Postby bear-chic » Thu Sep 12, 2019 7:38 pm

We have been 'involved' with houndsmen since 2010 when we were immediately hooked and came straight home from an Idaho bear hunt shopping for hounds and a rig to cart them around. We bought some random pups and an old dog to teach them(based on suggestions from this site). One of the pups caught on, one didn't. The old dog taught Clyde a thing or two (but not much) before he died last year, along with some others old dogs which left us a 7 year old Matthes hound that had some experience but had never made it to a tree. We took a 4 or 5 year break trying to come up with a side deal to fund this new found sport, and it ended up taking all our time, leaving the dogs... well... un-ran. Then I drew a bear tag that I had been putting in for for 13 years, so we thought we'd see what we could do to throw a quick pack together. (I see you snickering)… Clyde had seen two bears at that point but that was the extent of his experience and those were 4 years ago. After dusting him off and getting him in shape, I have watched this pup with some dogs that know what's up, and how he has cold tracked almost every bear we've ran this summer, I am on the hunt for more of this line. At least so I can carry on his genes. Spoke to a guy named Alan out of California who apparently knows all there is to know about the Shockley Matthes dogs who assured me I won't find it anywhere, and if I do, they won't have more than a toe of Matthes in them. He has them, but won't sell to 'the public', because of people who plant them on a chain. (I get it) After running almost every weekend this year and every other day we could squeeze in, the dynamics of watching these dogs hunt, learn, and work together has me more than obsessed with hounding. I don't care about making a name for myself in the hound world, nor about bragging ho