Snowmobile Hunting

Talk about Big Game Hunting with Dogs
BAR BAR 2
Bawl Mouth
Bawl Mouth

Snowmobile Hunting

Postby BAR BAR 2 » Fri Aug 07, 2015 2:25 am

I found a couple old threads about hunting from snow machines, but wanted to start a new one to see if there were any new thoughts or ideas on sleds for dogboxes. I'm looking at building one here soon, but still haven't seen anything that trips my trigger.

This year will be my first to hunt from a snow machine, so I don't really know what I don't know. What are some different concerns to keep in mind when building a sled? Should I keep the runners the same width as the snow machine so they track together? Do you want the runners rigid, or flexible?

Reading in an old thread, I saw where someone said to go ahead and build with steel to avoid the maintnence of aluminum. As a welder, I would agree with that. Also, I have a bunch of light steel laying around. I'm trying to figure out where to get the heavy plastic to put on the bottom of the steel runners, but haven't figured that out.

Does anyone have any pics they would care to share?

Tex
=2
Unreal_tk
Babble Mouth
Babble Mouth

Re: Snowmobile Hunting

Postby Unreal_tk » Fri Aug 07, 2015 2:48 am

I say a lighter sled, good plastic skis, I'd build the actual box from aluminum. Wood and plastic breaks and it's a pita in the woods. Make the frame steel
Kyle D7
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth
Facebook ID: 0

Postby Kyle D7 » Fri Aug 07, 2015 1:02 pm

I purchased a plastic otter sled with the steel spring loaded A arm mount that goes on the sled. It tracks g re at behind the sled and I can take the dog box out and haul other things with it. Take a look at them and see if they will work for you.
LIGHTNING RIDGE
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth

Postby LIGHTNING RIDGE » Sun Aug 09, 2015 8:39 am

This what I've been using for years.
The ski's are plastic and the frame is all 1.5 tubing. Very light and extremely durable
Attachments
image.jpg
LIGHTNING RIDGE KENNELS