Garmin Alpha help

Talk about Big Game Hunting with Dogs
cord
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:58 pm
Location: Wyo
Facebook ID: 0

Garmin Alpha help

Postby cord » Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:18 pm

Alpha will not turn on. It will only display the word garmin. I tried removing sd card, plugging in with out battery. I tried connecting it to the computer for updates. ( which I just updated a month ago). Help please!
cord
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:58 pm
Location: Wyo
Facebook ID: 0

Re: Garmin Alpha help

Postby cord » Sun Jan 20, 2019 12:19 pm

It will not connect to computer
User avatar
Rossco
Tight Mouth
Tight Mouth
Posts: 129
Joined: Sun Oct 11, 2009 12:44 am
Location: California
Location: Northern California

Re: Garmin Alpha help

Postby Rossco » Sun Jan 20, 2019 2:42 pm

When you plugged it into the wall charger without the battery in it, did you also turn it on?
"Life is hard, its harder if your stupid." John Wayne
cord
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:58 pm
Location: Wyo
Facebook ID: 0

Re: Garmin Alpha help

Postby cord » Sun Jan 20, 2019 2:51 pm

Yes but it just turns on to the screen that says garmin
Taylor
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Jun 20, 2014 2:37 am
Location: Wa
Facebook ID: 0

Re: Garmin Alpha help

Postby Taylor » Mon Jan 21, 2019 1:00 am

Mime was doing the same couple years ago so I brought it into buddy and he said it was toast. I think he’ll swap it out for a refurbished one for couple hundred bucks or so
"If you did not see it in the tree it did not happen" -Herb kennedy
cord
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:58 pm
Location: Wyo
Facebook ID: 0

Re: Garmin Alpha help

Postby cord » Mon Jan 21, 2019 6:57 am

Man I hope not
HuntAllTheTime
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Jan 21, 2018 8:54 pm
Location: VA
Facebook ID: 0

Re: Garmin Alpha help

Postby HuntAllTheTime » Mon Jan 21, 2019 11:26 am

Call Garmin technical support 1888 442 7646. They will probably walk you through some steps to fix it... If it can't be fixed if it is less than a year old they will send you another or I think if its older than a year for approximately $100 -150 and they will send you another one...
Olmuleskinner
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth
Posts: 25
Joined: Fri Oct 29, 2010 1:36 pm
Location: Missouri

Re: Garmin Alpha help

Postby Olmuleskinner » Tue Jan 22, 2019 11:19 pm

I do not think they will work without a good battery pack in them. You could need a new battery.

Sent from my E6810 using Tapatalk
Tom Kose
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue Jul 08, 2008 8:28 pm

Re: Garmin Alpha help

Postby Tom Kose » Wed Jan 23, 2019 12:24 am

Google “ garmin alpha master reset “ and the garmin page you need to go to should pop up . The master reset will wipe out anything that you have saved. My alpha did the same thing after I had mine for about a year. It has worked since then. Master reset may not work but it might be worth the chance. Please let us know if you get it working without sending it back to garmin.
cord
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth
Posts: 43
Joined: Fri Jan 10, 2014 11:58 pm
Location: Wyo
Facebook ID: 0

Re: Garmin Alpha help

Postby cord » Wed Jan 23, 2019 2:09 am

I could not get it working, but double u hunting supply took care of me very well

Return to “Big Game Hunting With Dogs”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests