Laika on bobcat

A Place to talk about hunting Bobcats, Lynx.
dpetty
Tight Mouth
Tight Mouth

Laika on bobcat

Postby dpetty » Fri Jan 22, 2016 3:00 pm

Do any of you hunt Laika on bobcat? Over in Europe they use them on lynx. We are about a year from being able to hunt bobcat just wondering if anyone hunts a laika on them. I run coon and squirrel with mine. They will tree feral cats (not the same thing) but putting them on fresh tracks in a fresh snow should be no different than them running coon. They do not open on track.
dirtdodge
Silent Mouth
Silent Mouth
Facebook ID: 0

Re: Laika on bobcat

Postby dirtdodge » Fri Jan 22, 2016 3:31 pm

I've been tossing this idea around for a couple of years. I know a laika will tree a bobcat that's not the problem. It's getting them to track it up I noticed is the hard part. And not finding something else to chase, squirrel, coon, rabbit, partridge ect...

I have 2 ideas on this...
1. Walk a cat track for who knows how long with the dog until they jump it. Then keep putting them on it if they make a lose.
2. Let the hounds cold trail and just free cast a laika into the blow down/swamp. I bet the laika would have that cat treed before the hounds started making the circles with the cat...

I think my next laika pup will be hunted a lot by cutting tracks and walking it in. Training it hunt this way. I always walk hunt/ free cast my dogs and I think it's not teaching them to cold trail like the hounds would be trained. I'm not comparing the nose of laikas to hounds but more the way the hounds are hunted/trained...

Any info from more experienced cat hunter's would be nice...
houndsandterriers
Tight Mouth
Tight Mouth

Postby houndsandterriers » Fri Jan 22, 2016 10:38 pm