Track Speed

A Place to talk about hunting Bobcats, Lynx.
SASS
Bawl Mouth
Bawl Mouth
Facebook ID: 0

Track Speed

Postby SASS » Thu Jun 01, 2017 8:21 pm

I am still pretty new to all of this but I have traveled around the US hunting with different friends and seeing a ton of different dogs. The one thing I always notice is how they run a track and how fast.

So couple parts to this post but first what line of dogs have you seen that consistently produced dogs with the best track speed. Also I know there is more than one variable on how fast a dog is capable of moving tracks other than the tracks themselves and environmental conditions. That is how much scent they can smell and process and how fast they can run. Obviously the first determines how much of the second they can use. I had a mentor of mine tell me a dog can only move a track as fast as his nose and brain will let him. So any other thoughts on the subject would be greatly welcomed too. Is this a trait that any of you really focus on?

I have posted this in the bobcat section as I have been told by the people I hunt with that steady pressure is what gets cats treed or caught on the ground. So I would love to hear everybody's thoughts on the subject.
pegleg
Babble Mouth
Babble Mouth

Re: Track Speed

Postby pegleg » Fri Jun 02, 2017 12:48 am

Are you differentiating between air/body scent and track ground scent? Not all dogs run both or can do so equal.
SASS
Bawl Mouth
Bawl Mouth

Postby SASS » Fri Jun 02, 2017 1:53 am

kickemall
Bawl Mouth
Bawl Mouth

Postby kickemall » Fri Jun 02, 2017 10:49 am

To answer one part of your question, the most consistent line that I have seen with track speed are Mike Kemp's dogs. There are also some guys around here (northcoast of Ca.) that have been loosely breeding varmit dogs for 50 years that can hold a track and are consistently speedy. I'm sure theres plenty more but those are ones I've been around enough to be able to say they're consistent.
dwalton
Babble Mouth