A place to talk about coyote Hunting with dogs
Sdasenbrock
Facebook ID: 0

Need Hunting trainer, friend, SLC UTAH, mentor

Postby Sdasenbrock » Mon Jan 04, 2016 12:12 am

I live in Sandy Utah.

I have a 3/4 plot and 1/4 red tick hound bitch
I have a chocolate lab weimaraner male

I am a novice in coyote hunting for sure. Ive been maybe 5 times specifically after dogs, and then maybe another 5 sort of on the side of another event.

-Today, january 3rd i was just out for a drive. I pulled onto Little Sahara road, the sand mtn road. And spotted a monster of a dog, i would say he was 50-60 pounds but fur is misleading. He was the biggest dog i have ever seen. So of course, i drop it into 4x4 and bombed off the road. Chased him for 2-3 miles in my truck, just couldn't catch up to him. Not enough snow to slow him down, but to much snow to slow me down. I would get close and get ready to drop my dogs on him and he would hit the jets.

-I give you this story to let you know why i am back on this site and wanting to get into hunting dogs again. I have my two dogs, and they will chase on site but i haven't trained them well enough on scents. My male will catch, if he gets in range of a target he will latch, i haven't seen him do it but he has the mentality. My female is a bay dog, she would love to track if she was able to be trained by someone more knowledgeable than me.