Astro 320 under USB 12v power going to "USB Mode"

This is an area for Helping with Garmin Questions, Any posted References or posted Advertisements for selling Products will be removed. This is not a Place to Post your items for Sale, or Ask where to buy products.
User avatar
Beardawgs
Tight Mouth
Tight Mouth
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 6:41 am
Location: North Idaho
Facebook ID: 0

Astro 320 under USB 12v power going to "USB Mode"

Postby Beardawgs » Mon Apr 06, 2015 4:09 am

The first time I tried plugging my 320 into the cigarette lighter on my wheeler I didn't realize it had to be the 320 Garmin cable, so it went into "USB Mode." Then I tried it with the cable that came with the 320 and the same thing happened. I tried it with the wheeler off, with it running and in my pickup while it was not running. The cigarette lighter plug is the one that came with the 320/DC50 bundle. Am I doing something wrong or is the Astro screwed up? Thanks
Wide Open!

North Idaho Big Game Hounds
User avatar
tman308
Open Mouth
Open Mouth
Posts: 560
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: Utah/Arizona Border

Re: Astro 320 under USB 12v power going to "USB Mode"

Postby tman308 » Mon Apr 06, 2015 10:12 am

You have to change the setting. under settings go to System at the very bottom where it says base camp base station change that to prompted should fix your problem.
Tman308

Hunt Hard, Hunt Smart, Have Fun, and take your kids with you!
User avatar
Beardawgs
Tight Mouth
Tight Mouth
Posts: 75
Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2014 6:41 am
Location: North Idaho
Facebook ID: 0

Re: Astro 320 under USB 12v power going to "USB Mode"

Postby Beardawgs » Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:27 pm

That was the problem, thanks a lot! That would have been a handy couple of sentances to add to the owner's manual. I read on another thread that the range decreased when running off of a 12v power supply, have you experienced that? I never noticed it with my 220
Wide Open!

North Idaho Big Game Hounds
User avatar
Unreal_tk
Babble Mouth
Babble Mouth
Posts: 1222
Joined: Mon Jul 12, 2010 4:27 pm
Location: Oregon

Re: Astro 320 under USB 12v power going to "USB Mode"

Postby Unreal_tk » Mon Apr 06, 2015 5:53 pm

Thanks I'm going to try this on my alpha
User avatar
tman308
Open Mouth
Open Mouth
Posts: 560
Joined: Fri Jul 25, 2008 7:08 pm
Location: Utah/Arizona Border

Re: Astro 320 under USB 12v power going to "USB Mode"

Postby tman308 » Tue Apr 07, 2015 2:05 am

I don't use mine in the vehicle so I don't know about that. I don't know why the signal would change based on being plugged in.
Tman308

Hunt Hard, Hunt Smart, Have Fun, and take your kids with you!

Return to “Garmin Astro Help Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest