Jumping out bobcats

A Place to talk about hunting Bobcats, Lynx.
running dog
Facebook ID: 0

Jumping out bobcats

Postby running dog » Mon Jan 18, 2016 1:31 am

What are the pros and cons of rerunning bobcats? I have not read much about it. Does it do the dogs any good?
merlo_105
Open Mouth
Open Mouth

Re: Jumping out bobcats

Postby merlo_105 » Mon Jan 18, 2016 3:30 am

running dog, I'm totally against it. Don't mean i'm right I just don't see what good could come having my dogs leaving a tree with a hot track. I know a older very successful hunter who does it and I know another who feel's how I feel about it. My dog's are not tree minded dog's there more track minded so I don't want any kinda thing messing with there treeing ability.
nmrookie

Postby nmrookie » Mon Jan 18, 2016 4:46 pm

I have no experience doing this with cats but I did run a few coons this past summer and knocked a couple out for the dogs to re-run. With my good dog it did not seem to affect her in anyway, she stays treed as long as she needs to no matter how long I take getting there. With my pups it was a different story, the first and only cat they've treed was only a few weeks after knocking a coon out and they only stayed treed for a few minutes and were making big circles hunting again when I got to the tree even tho my good dog stayed treed. The tree was a HUGE fir tree so I know they couldn't see the cat but I thought they should've stayed treed with my good dog. I think I was teaching them to start hunting again by re-running the coon instead of just praising them and letting them stay treed on the first tree they caught him in. I think until they have a pretty good handle on treeing and staying treed it might not be a good idea. Just my opinion from what I've seen with my own
dwalton
Babble Mouth
Babble Mouth

Postby dwalton » Tue Jan 19, 2016 4:38 pm